WSPR stations who heard me

I downloaded monthly WSPR data from wsprnet.org and plotted the WSPR reporters who saw me since I started transmitting with the PA1EJO call on 25-5-2016.

map2505till1507year2016
These stations received me since 25-may-2016
dis2505till1507year2016
Top to bottom: distance in km to beacon and transmit power in dBm against the day in year 2016. The statistics are computed over 2 hourly intervals since 25 May 2016.

If you want to have a copy of the MATLAB code then feel free to contact me.

Last update: 17-Jul-2016

4 thoughts on “WSPR stations who heard me

  1. Hello sir, I got some problem with sorting out the data because of the large size of the files
    I wonder how you pick up the data you need from the files ?

    1. Hi, there are several ways to do this, one of them is to first run a script to extract only those records that you need, you filter them on your call (for instance). Next you use a plotting program for which I normally use matlab. The filter looks like this on a macbook:

      #!/bin/csh -f

      grep PA1EJO wsprspots*.csv |awk -F'[,:]’ ‘{ print $3″ “$6” “$10” “$12” “$13” % T=”$8 }’ |grep ‘T=PA1EJO’ > filter.d

      and next you put the filter.d file in matlab:

      clear;
      data = load(‘filter.d’);
      hour = data(:,1)/3600;
      dis = data(:,4);
      azi = data(:,5);
      snr = data(:,2);
      pwr = data(:,3);
      y = dis.*cos(azi/180*pi);
      x = dis.*sin(azi/180*pi);
      t0 = floor(min(hour));
      t1 = ceil(max(hour));
      t1-t0;
      step = 24;
      k=0;
      for tt=t0:step:t1,
      idx = find( (hour >= (tt-0.5*step)) & (hour 0),
      scatter(x(idx),y(idx),80,snr(idx),’filled’); title(sprintf(‘t=%10.1f h=%.0f’,floor(tt/24),mod(tt,24)));
      axis([-9000 9000 -9000 9000]); pause(1);
      k = k + 1;
      xk(k) = tt;
      yk(k,1) = mean(dis(idx));
      yk(k,2) = median(dis(idx));
      yk(k,3) = max(dis(idx));
      end
      end
      figure(2);
      plot((xk-t0)/24,yk(:,1),’o-‘,(xk-t0)/24,yk(:,2),’.-‘,(xk-t0)/24,yk(:,3),’.-‘);

      I hope this sort of helps you to get started.

  2. In the version used in this blog I used a map plotting library in matlab, it also gives me the coastlines and also I translated the maidenhead locator info into lat/lons.

Leave a Reply

